University of Botswana

The University of Botswana, or UB was established in 1982 as the first institution of higher education in Botswana. The university has four campuses: two in the capital city Gaborone, one in Francistown, and another in Maun. The university is divided into six faculties: Business, Education, Engineering, Humanities, Science and Social Sciences.

Under the AMESD Project (which ended in June 2013), the UB was a Wildfire Service capacity building partner and also a beneficiary of the AMESD SADC Fire Receiving Station. The university also developed a Wilffire Service Standalone Training Package which was later used in the AMESD SADC Distance Course.

Under MESA, the UB continues to play an important role in Botswana, assisting in product validation exercises and creating a new generation of GIS/RS professionals.


Institution Type:


4775 Notwane Rd.

Private Bag UB 0022



+(267) 355 0000
Email Address: 

Services Available:

Upcoming Events

There are currently no upcoming events.